Winging It

Every so often I get the urge to start a relatively small and quick project.  This time I got the urge to do a small cross stitch piece of a horse by Jan Sorrells that I’d found ages ago in a cross stitch magazine (I’m not sure which one — all I have is a couple of pages torn out of a magazine my mother or grandmother originally had).  I’ve been wanting to do that horse for a while, plus I have some random 14 count aida I want to use up and a bunch of unnumbered bobbins of floss I’d like to work through.

Turns out the piece of fabric would have literally three stitches to spare on either side of the cross stitching.2015 01-30 Horse 1

Meh, I was planning on finishing it as a wall hanging, not framing it, so I can make this work with some fray check and careful handling.

Then I spent a bit of time checking my available floss against images of the DMC floss called for.  I didn’t have enough browns, but I can give the horse a blue halter instead of a brown one and use some blended needles. 2015 01-30 Horse 2 I had a couple of colors that I’d picked out but changed after I started working with them and realized they didn’t work as well as I’d thought they would. This is after about a week’s worth of work:  2015 01-30 Horse 3

7 thoughts on “Winging It

  1. Wow, the way that you’re approaching this project is so relaxed. It must be a very liberating experience! And still, your work is gorgeous. I tape the edges of my canvas to keep them from fraying, you could try that to maintain the size of your cloth?

    • Thanks! To be entirely fair, I was quite upset at first when I realized that my cloth wasn’t nearly as big as I remembered. Then I decided to be laid back about the whole thing because the absolute worst case scenario is that I have fun stitching for a while and use some of my random stash which is taking up space I’d like for other things without actually finishing the piece.

      I did consider taping the cloth, but I’m afraid that it would be impossible to remove without damaging the narrow edge that I have, and I wouldn’t want to keep the tape on forever. So far liberal application of fray check and working carefully has been successful (I’m stitching in hand, not in a hoop or anything that could add stress).

        • Fray check is a liquid you apply to the edges of fabric that stiffens it and makes it resistant to fraying. I think it must be some kind of adhesive, but I don’t know what exactly is in it. I believe ‘fray check’ is actually the brand name, although I can’t recall seeing an off brand product to do the same thing.

  2. Ooh I’ve never heard of fray check before, I might have a hunt for it. My guilty secret is that I always stitch in my hand not in a hoop. Shh don’t tell anyone.
    The horse is going to look wonderful xx

    • Fray check is usually sold anywhere that has sewing supplies. I don’t think it’s as good as serging or tape for holding the edges of cross stitch fabric together, but it’s functional in this case.

      I wouldn’t call stitching in the hand a guilty secret — if it works for you, awesome!

Leave a Reply

