Hanging Project Storage

I recently saw a really interesting post on ravelry, talking about organizing projects using a whiteboard to keep track of ongoing projects and bags hanging on hooks to hold the projects, and immediately started thinking about how I could make it work for me.  I tend to start more projects than I finish, and individual projects often languish for long periods of time without any progress (and sometimes I even forget they exist….).

I decided to put five nails (angled slightly upward so bag handles don’t slide off) in a row above my desk to hang project bags on.  Instead of a whiteboard to organize the projects, I wrote the name of the project in marker on a scrap of paper and punched a hole at the top of the scrap to hang it on the nail with my project bag — I felt this would be easier to keep track of for me.

HangingBagOrganizerAs you can see, the two bags on the left are cloth bags, while the other three are sturdy plastic bags. The plastic bags are fine, but since I want to be able to grab a bag and take it with me, they’re not ideal — they’re very crinkly sounding for working during meetings or on the bus. I’ve just been to the local used craft supply place and picked up some cheap fabric to make some less noisy bags.

My plan is to put every project in a bag, and not start a new project until I have an open nail for it to hang on (if somehow I have a project that won’t fit, I plan on just hanging the label on a nail to take up that space). What I have there now is, sadly, not all of my ongoing projects. I have at least three more that need to make it up on the wall once I clear out some of the current ones (such as the giant bag on the right labeled “Mending”….I’m hoping that having it blocking me from starting a new project will give me motivation to finish those boring but necessary tasks).

….wait, is it cheating if I’m planning on making some project bags for the wall and don’t currently have a bag on the wall to put them in?

One thought on “Hanging Project Storage

Leave a Reply

