Finishing Lily’s Sweater

I knit my dog, Lily, a sweater a little over a year ago, making up the pattern as I went along. It fit remarkably well (she’s wearing it in my avatar), except that the belly was a little bit too loose. It was nice that it went over her head and forelegs easily, but her back legs would sometimes get caught in the sweater.  I’ve been meaning to make her a belt ever since…

The belt itself is a narrow band of sideways herringbone stitch.

FinishedBelt

Then I picked up stitches for belt loops and knitted a narrow band just long enough to contain  the belt. I attached the ends to the sweater with something vaguely resembling kitchener stitch.

PickingUpBeltLoop

I marked the different parts of the final product in this picture because they blend together so well (which I’m quite happy about).

FinishedBeltLoop

Here’s Lily modeling the finished project!  She’s slightly less happy about it than I am, but that might have something to do with me putting her in a wool sweater on a warm spring day to check the fit…

FinishedSweater

Leave a Reply

